the T I G E R - M E crying blog

Your choice

section: Posts »» post #95

Discrimination against Women

09.10.2009 tags [ anger | press-mess | history ]

The Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) is an international convention adopted in 1979 by the United Nations General Assembly.

The six UN member states that have not signed the convention are Iran, Nauru, Palau, Somalia, Sudan, and Tonga. These are either Islamic states (Iran, Somalia, Sudan) or small Pacific Island nations (Nauru, Palau, Tonga). Niue and the Vatican City have also not signed it. The United States has signed, but not yet ratified.

The world is an interesting place, isn't it?!